Tech Guided is supported by readers. If you buy products from links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more

How to Leave A Discord Server

How to Leave A Discord Server

Discord is one of the most popular voice software today. It has several public and private servers for just about anyone on any subject.

Depending on how you use the software, you can easily rack up dozens of servers on your list.

Eventually, you might want to consider trimming down those numbers, and you’ll need to know how to leave a Discord server.

So let’s go over how to quit a Discord server on PC and mobile to help you clean up your list.

The Different Ways to Leave a Discord Server

Discord is available on iOS, Android, Desktop, and Web browsers. The way to leave a server slightly changes depending on the platform you’re currently using.

Additionally, if you made the server yourself, the process of leaving is different. You might also want to consider changing the server owner first to avoid completely deleting it.

Leaving a Discord Server on Desktop or Web

Regardless of the platform you’re currently using, quitting a Discord server through the web browser or desktop works the same way.

  1. Boot up Discord and select the server you want to leave.Select Server
  2. On the new page, to the right side of the server name, find the small drop-down arrow and click it.Server Drop Down
  3. From the new menu, click Leave Server.Leave Server
  4. Click the Leave Server button on the prompt that pops up if you’re ready to commit to your decision.Leave Server

Leaving a Discord Server on Mobile

The process to leave a discord server on iOS or Android is similar, as both use the official Discord app.

  1. After booting the Discord app, locate the three horizontal lines on the top left of the interface and tap it to expand.Open Mobile Menu
  2. On the left, you can find the list with all your servers. Tap on the server you want to leave.Open Server on Mobile
  3. Tap on the three dots on the right side of the server name that pops up.Mobile Server Options
  4. From the new menu, tap on the Leave Server button towards the bottom.Leave Server Mobile
  5. Tap the Leave Server on the new prompt if you’re ready to leave.Leave Server Confirmation Mobile

Leaving a Discord Server You Own

If you created your Discord server but no longer want to be a part of it, you can choose to either leave or delete it. However, the process of quitting is slightly different if you’re the server owner.

  1. After launching Discord, click on your server and then the arrow to the next server’s name.Server Drop-Down
  2. Then click on Server Settings.Server Settings
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the new page and click Delete Server.Delete Server
  4. On the new screen, type in your server name to confirm the server’s deletion.Deleter Server - Enter Server Name
  5. Press Delete Server when you’re ready to delete.Confirm Delete Server

Once you click on the button, the server will be deleted. So make sure that’s what you want. The server will vanish from the server list of any members after deletion.

Alternatively, you can choose to transfer ownership to another member before quitting a server you own. That way, you can still leave the server but without deleting it.

Transferring Server Ownership

The process to leave a server you own is quite simple and guarantees that all the information in the server is preserved.

  1. Click on your server and then the arrow to the next server’s name.Server Drop-Down
  2. Now click on Server Settings.Server Settings
  3. Lower on the list, click on Members.Server Members
  4. Mouse over the member that you want to transfer the server ownership to and click the three dots to the right of their name.Member Settings Menu
  5. On the submenu that opened, click Transfer Ownership.Transfer Server Ownership

Leaving a Discord Server is Simple

And that’s all there is to it. Once you successfully leave the selected server, it will no longer appear on the left sidebar, and you won’t receive any messages, pings, or notifications from it.

If you decide to delete a Discord server instead, it will vanish from all member’s server lists.

I'm a freelance content writer with over three years in the industry and a Computer Science bachelor's. I also worked for more than four years in the tech industry before becoming a writer!

Leave a Comment